Texas State Board of Dental Examiners Advertisement
Home arrow Licensing Information arrow Hygienist Licensing arrow Dental Hygiene General Licensure Information
Thursday, 17 April 2014
 
 
Dental Hygiene General Licensure Information Print E-mail

DENTAL HYGIENE GENERAL LICENSURE INFORMATION

Carefully read all the criteria for licensure listed below before submitting an application for licensure with the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (SBDE).


Requirement for Applying for Licensure by Examination

Texas and Non-Texas Residents applying for Licensure by Examination must complete a Fingerprint Criminal Background Check before submitting an application for Initial Licensure.  To learn more, and complete the Fingerprint Criminal Background Check, click here:  www.tsbde.state.tx.us/Fingerprint

 

Requirement for All Licensure Applicants

All applicants for licensure in the State of Texas must complete the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment for Initial Licensure online.  To learn more about this process and take the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment for Initial Licensure click here:  www.tsbde.state.tx.us/Jurisprudence.  

 


Application Process for All Applicants

Please read all instructions carefully and completely.  Type or print clearly all requested information.  All required documents must be attached to the application.  In the event a document must be sent separately, applicants must verify that the document has been submitted to this office, then provide that information with the submission of the application for licensure.  This will allow our staff to locate any documents not attached to your application.  Incomplete applications will be returned.

 

Address all Correspondence to:
Texas State Board of Dental Examiners

333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800

Austin, TX 78701-3942


 

Texas has a staggered renewal system so all licenses do not expire at the same time.  At the time your license number is assigned, a month of expiration will also be randomly selected.  Your first registration period will be 6 to 18 months in length.  You will be billed for the initial licensure period when you are notified of a license number issuance.  These fees must be paid within thirty days.  Licensees may practice during the first thirty-day period with the license award letter, but must secure a registration certificate for legal practice to continue beyond the initial thirty days.   Licensees may not practice beyond the initial thirty days without a valid registration certificate issued by the State Board of Dental Examiners (SBDE). 

Texas law REQUIRES that this registration certificate be posted where you are offering dental services.  The only exception is the initial licensure processing for the first thirty days. 

You may expect a 7 to 10 day turnaround on processing fees and issuance of the certificate.  Consider this turnaround when submitting your fee payment, as the only method of delivery for this certificate to you is USPS standard delivery.  Your formal license will be mailed to you within four weeks of our receipt of your activation fees.

If you have questions about the licensing process in Texas, please contact our office by e-mail at:  This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it   or by phone at (512) 463-6400.  Your questions will be answered promptly.

 


 

General Requirements for All Applicants

1.   All applicants for dental hygiene licensure must be at least eighteen (18) years of age; a graduate of an accredited high school or hold a certificate of high school equivalency (GED) and be a graduate of a recognized and accredited school or college of dentistry or dental hygiene approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association and approved by the State Board of Dental Examiners.

2.   All applicants must submit the following:

      a.   A complete and notarized Application for Texas Licensure

      b.   Required application fee as indicated on application

      c.   All documents as indicated on applicable licensure application

      d.  SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment for Initial Licensure Certificate of Completion.

      Note:  All Licensure by Examination applicants must submit proof of having their fingerprints processed by L-1 Enrollment Services for the State and National Criminal History Background Check.

 


 

Licensing Options

Listed below are links to the guidelines for licensure options available through the SBDE.  Carefully read all criteria to determine that you meet all requirements before applying for dental licensure.

Licensure by Examination

Licensure by Credentials

Temporary Licensure

 

 
Next >
 
Top! Top!