Texas State Board of Dental Examiners Advertisement
Home arrow Licensing Information arrow Dentist Licensing arrow Texas Jurisprudence Requirements
Monday, 21 April 2014
 
 
Texas Jurisprudence Requirements Print E-mail

Take the Jurisprudence Assessment Online

Click the "Continue Button" to select the online assessment you need to take. 

Note:  The Jurisprudence Assessment must be taken online using a computer.  It is not available
for download in written form.

    continue



General Information on the Texas Jurisprudence Requirements

  • Dentists

CLICK HERE

  • Dental Hygienists

CLICK HERE

  • Dental Assistants

CLICK HERE

  • Dental Laboratories

CLICK HERE


General Information About the Jurisprudence Assessment 

   -  No advanced preparation or study materials are needed.  The assessment is viewed as a learning tool.

   -  Content for the applicable rule or law for each question is available in the form of a link for use any time above each question.

   -  A "No Fail" Question & Answer Format.  Questions must be answered correctly in order to advance forward within the assessment. 

   -  Take it at your convenience 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

   -  Take all the time you need to complete your assessment.  Log out at any time to finish later. 

   -  Your purchase is confirmed by e-mail.

   -   No cost for duplicate certificates.

   -  The fee is $54.  Payment can be made with a major credit card, bank card or by electronic check.


Contact the Dental Board

Questions pertaining to Licensure, Registrations, Renewals or Board Order/Conditional Dismissal Compliance relative to the Jurisprudence Assessment should be directed to Dental Board Staff at:

   E-MailThis email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it

   Fax:  (512) 463-7452

   Mail:  State Board of Dental Examiners, 333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800, Austin, TX 78701-3942

   Telephone:  (512) 463-6400  (Calls are answered in the order they are received and messages are returned within 24 hours.) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Jurisprudence Requirements for Dentists

Requirement:

Effective January 1, 2008 the Jurisprudence requirement may only be met by taking the online Jurisprudence Assessment once every three years.  

Note:  Take the Jurisprudence Assessment before the 3-year anniversary date of when you last took your jurisprudence component (whether you took a course in a classroom setting prior to January 1, 2008 or whether you took the online Jurisprudence Assessment after January 1, 2008.  

Submitting Proof of Completion to the Dental Board: 

The licensee is responsible for maintaining a copy of his/her Jurisprudence Assessment Certificate of Completion for a period of three (3) years and shall present proof of completion to the Board upon request for:

--  Initial Licensure:  Submit proof with the Initial Licensure Application.  The certificate must be dated within the preceding 12 months of making application to the Dental Board.  

--  Board Order or Conditional Dismissal:  Respondents should submit proof in accordance with the requirements outlined in their Board Order or Conditional Dismissal documentation.  Please include your Case Number on all of your correspondence.

--  Reinstatement of a Retired License:  Submit proof when making application for reinstatement of the license.  The certificate must be dated within the preceding 12 months of making application to the Dental Board.  

--  Other Reasons:   If selected for Continuing Education Audit, the Dental Board will request a copy of the Certificate of Completion for the Jurisprudence Assessment for License Renewal.  You are not required to submit of your Certificate of Completion when renewing your license, only when your license is selected for CE audit.

Continuing Education: 

The Dental Board does not award Continuing Education (CE) credit for taking the online Jurisprudence Assessment however, if you take a Jurisprudence course in addition to taking the Dental Board's Jurisprudence Assessment you may apply your coursework credits earned towards your annual CE requirement.

Back to Top 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jurisprudence Requirements for Dental Hygienists

Requirement:

Effective January 1, 2008 the Jurisprudence requirement may only be met by taking the online Jurisprudence Assessment once every three years.  

Note:  Take the Jurisprudence Assessment before the 3-year anniversary date of when you last took your jurisprudence component (whether you took a course in a classroom setting prior to January 1, 2008 or if took the online Jurisprudence Assessment after January 1, 2008.)  

Submitting Proof of Completion to the Dental Board: 

The licensee is responsible for maintaining a copy of his/her Jurisprudence Assessment Certificate of Completion for a period of three (3) years and shall present proof of completion to the Board upon request for:

--  Initial Licensure:  Submit proof with the Initial Licensure Application.  The certificate must be dated within the preceding 12 months of making application to the Dental Board.  

--  Board Order or Conditional Dismissal:  Respondents should submit proof in accordance with the requirements outlined in their Board Order or Conditional Dismissal documentation.  Please include your Case Number in all of your correspondence.

--  Non-Texas Trained Hygienists Seeking Nitrous Oxide Monitoring Certification:  Hygienists must have received training in a non-Texas dental hygiene program within the previous 5 years.  The Jurisprudence Certificate of Completion must be dated within the preceding 12 months.

--  Reinstatement of a Retired License:  Submit proof when making application for reinstatement of the license.  The certificate must be dated within the preceding 12 months of making application to the Dental Board.  

--  Other Reasons:   If selected for Continuing Education Audit, the Dental Board will request a copy of the Certificate of Completion for the Jurisprudence Assessment for License Renewal.  You are not required to submit of your Certificate of Completion when renewing your license, only when your license is selected for CE audit.

Continuing Education: 

The Dental Board does not award Continuing Education (CE) credit for taking the online Jurisprudence Assessment however, if you take a Jurisprudence course in addition to taking the Dental Board's Jurisprudence Assessment you may apply coursework credits earned towards your annual CE requirement.

Back to Top 


  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jurisprudence Requirements for a Dental Laboratories  

Requirements:

•  New Laboratories:  Effective January 1, 2009, all new laboratories conducting business in Texas will need to complete the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment for Dental Laboratory Initial Registration before making application with the Dental Board.  A copy of the Jurisprudence Assessment Certificate of Completion must be submitted with the Application for Registration of a Dental Laboratory and must be dated within the preceding 12 months. 

 

•  Currently Registered Laboratories:  Effective January 1, 2009, currently registered dental laboratories have until January 1, 2012 to complete the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment for Renewal of a Texas Dental Laboratory Registration.  This assessment is to be completed once every three years for registration renewal.  A copy of the Jurisprudence Assessment Certificate of Completion should be mainatined on file with the Laboratory and made available upon request by the Dental Board. 

 

Jurisprudence Assessments for Dental Laboratories:

    •   Dental Laboratory Applying for Initial Registration in Texas   (New Applicants)  

This assessment is intended to allow dental laboratories an opportunity to familiarize themselves with the Texas Occupations Code (statutes that govern the practice of this profession in Texas) and the Rules and Regulations of the Board for Initial Registration. 

NBC Professional Development Credit AwardedOne hour of Professional Development Credit is awarded by the National Board of Certification (NBC) in Dental Laboratory Technology for completion of the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment.  The NBC Professional Development Credit Course Number is found on every assessment Certificate of Completion.  The Certificate of Completion can be printed immediately upon completing the assessment or you may log into your user account at a later date to print a copy.

    •  Renewal of an Existing Texas Dental Laboratory Registration  

This assessment is to be taken by current Texas dental laboratories fulfilling the jurisprudence requirement once every three years for registration renewal. 

NBC Professional Development Credit AwardedOne hour of Professional Development Credit is awarded by the National Board of Certification (NBC) in Dental Laboratory Technology for completion of the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment.  The NBC Professional Development Credit Course Number is found on every assessment Certificate of Completion.  The Certificate of Completion can be printed immediately upon completing the assessment or you may log into your user account at a later date to print a copy.

    •  Jurisprudence Assessment for Compliance of an SBDE Board Order or Conditional Dismissal

Respondents who have received documentation from the SBDE Legal Division or SBDE Compliance Officer will complete this assessment.  When providing proof of completion please include your SBDE Case Number on your fax or cover letter for faster processing.

Back to Top 


  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jurisprudence Assessment Requirements for Dental Assistants

Dental Assistant Registration Procedures for RDA (Radiology) Certificate:  

To view a list of Approved Course Providers who offer a course and examination that will meet the qualification requirements for registration with the Dental Board and receive the RDA Credential to make x-rays in Texas  -  CLICK HERE 

When a Dental Assistant has fully completed the registration process, the State Board of Dental Examiners will issue the Dental Assistant Registration Certificate and a Registration Number to the dental assistantThe Certificate must be displayed where services are provided in order to make and position radiographs (x-rays) legally in Texas.    

Jurisprudence Assessment for Dental Assistant National Board Certified Dental Assistants  registering to make Radiographs in Texas.  Not sure you have a DANB CDA Credential or have completed the DANB RAD or ICE Exams?  Contact DANB at www.danb.org

Dental Assistants who hold a current DANB CDA Credential or possess a Certificate of Completion of the DANB Infection Control Examination and a Certificate of Completion of the DANB Dental Radiation Health and Safety Examination will want to take the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment online to complete the Texas Jurisprudence component for registration purposes.    

Jurisprudence Assessment for Coronal Polishing Certificate:  

  1) 
This assessment is only to be taken by assistants who qualify under Option 2 or Option 3 as stated in the Coronal Polishing Certificate Instructions. 
  2)  To learn more about the Qualification Options for the Coronal Polishing Certificate  CLICK HERE


Submitting Proof of Completion to the Dental Board: 

No Jurisprudence Registration Renewal RequirementDental Assistants are not required to take the Jurisprudence Assessment once every three years for registration (license) renewal purposes like that of dentists and dental hygienists.  Dental Assistants only take a Jurisprudence component prior to initial registration with the Dental Board.

The dental assistant is responsible for maintaining a copy of his/her online Jurisprudence Assessment Certificate of Completion for a period of three (3) years and shall present proof of completion to the Board upon request for:

--  DANB CDA Initial Registration to Make Radiographs in Texas:  In lieu of having the DANB CDA Credential you may submit a copy of both the Certificate of Completion for the DANB Infection Control Examination and DANB Radiation Health and Safety Exam along with your Jurisprudence Certificate of Completion.  Submit proof of completion with your Dental Assistant Registration Application.  Your Jurisprudence Assessment Certificate of Completion must be dated within the preceding 12 months of making application to the Dental Board.  

--  Coronal Polishing Certificate:  In addition to submitting your application and documents showing successful completion from DANB, or graduation from a CODA-Accredited Dental Assisting Program that included didactic course work and clinical training in Coronal Polishing, you must submit a copy of your Jurisprudence Assessment Coronal Polishing Certificate of Completion dated within the preceding 12 months of making application to the Dental Board.

--  Board Order or Conditional Dismissal:   Dental Assistants who are named as a Respondent in legal action taken by the Board should submit proof of completion in accordance with the requirements outlined in their Board Order or Conditional Dismissal documentation.  Please include your Case Number in all of your correspondence.

 Continuing Education Information: 

The Dental Board does not award Continuing Education (CE) credit for taking the online Jurisprudence Assessment.  

Back to Top 


  

 

 
< Prev   Next >
 
Top! Top!